Message sent from:

Curriculum Rationale

As a Rights Respecting School, developing children’s independence and motivation as learners, together with a sense of responsibility as future citizens, is at the heart of our pedagogical approach to teaching and learning.

At St. Margaret’s Infant School, we review and assess our practice to provide exciting, active learning opportunities and experiences within a broad and balanced curriculum. We are passionate about developing confident, happy learners who are motivated to achieve highly, always showing respect for others and have a determination to do their best.  We have high aspirations for our children as they develop into increasingly independent and curious learners.

Our curriculum is carefully designed, in line with the Development Matters and the National Curriculum together with consideration of the uniqueness of our locality and community and it is  based on what we know engages our children.  Our aim is to make it relevant to their lives and provide them with the opportunity to develop a range of different skills needed in later life.

Curriculum Principles

We believe that basic skills underpin learning at St. Margaret’s Infant school and use a systematic approach to develop the core skills in Reading, Writing and Maths. Using a consistent whole school approach, we provide children with practical opportunities to consolidate and embed their learning, so that they have the confidence and resilience to apply the knowledge and skills to solve problems, prove their answers, explain and think critically.

Other curriculum subjects are planned using a four-stage pedagogical approach.

  Inquire- We start from the children. We ask them what they already know and how we could build upon their existing knowledge. We hook our children in with a memorable experience, setting the scene and providing the context for learning. 

This phase supports the children to be adventurous, excited and curious.

·       Develop- Next, we teach facts and information for deeper understanding and knowledge. Teachers demonstrate new skills and allow time for children to consolidate their new learning.

This phase supports the children to be industrious, purposeful and resilient.

·       Experiment- Our children are then encouraged to work collaboratively to solve problems and become more independent learners and showcase their newly acquired knowledge and skills.

This phase supports the children to be imaginative, inventive and resourceful.

·       Assess- Children reflect on their learning journey, talking about what they have learned, achieved and overcome. They set their own targets for future work and to further their independence.

This phase supports the children to be confident, articulate and reflective.

       Share Success - Finally, children are encouraged to reflect on their learning journey, celebrate, and share their success with their peers, parents and other members of the community.

This phase supports the children to be independent, collaborative and proud. 




Confident, Happy, Achieve, Respect, Determination


The National Curriculum

The government introduced a National Curriculum in September 2014. This applies to pupils of compulsory school age in community and foundation schools, and voluntary aided and voluntary controlled schools. It is organised on the basis of four Key Stages:

KS1- Ages 5-7 (Yrs1-2)

KS2- Ages 7-11 (Yrs3-6)

KS3- Ages 11-14 (Yrs 7-9)

KS4- Ages 14-16 (Yrs 10-11)

At Key Stages 1 and 2, the statutory subjects that all pupils must study are: Art & Design, Design & Technology, English, Geography, History, Computing, Mathematics, Music, Physical Education (PE) and Science. Religious Education (RE) must also be provided at Key Stage 1 and 2.

Hit enter to search