Message sent from:

Rights Respecting School

We are pleased to announce that we have achieved the Rights Respecting Bronze Award!

Achieving Bronze: Rights Committed means there is evidence that:

  • Our school has introduced the RRSA Three Strands into our community.
  • Our school's senior leadership team (SLT) understand what is involved in the Award and is committed to embarking on the Unicef UK rights respecting journey.
  • The right foundations are in place for our school’s journey to the second stage of the Award, Silver: Rights Aware


The Rights Respecting Schools Award programme supports schools to embed the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child in their practice to improve well-being and help all children realise their potential.

The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child sets out the human rights of every person under the age of 18. The Convention is an international human rights treaty which was adopted by the UN General Assembly in 1989 and ratified by the UK in 1991.

You can find the rights here: https://www.unicef.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/UNCRC_summary-1.pdf

The Unicef UK Rights Respecting Schools Award (RRSA) supports schools across the UK to embed children’s human rights in their ethos and culture. Schools can achieve a special award. The award recognises achievement in putting the UN Convention on the Right of the Child (UNCRC) at the heart of a school’s practice to improve well-being and help all children realise their potential.

The award is based on principles of equality, dignity, respect, non-discrimination and participation. The initiative started in 2006 and schools involved in the Award have reported a positive impact on relationships and well-being, leading to better learning and behaviour, improved academic standards and less bullying. The Award is aimed at schools across the UK.

Schools involved in the Rights Respecting Schools Award work towards recognition that they have embedded children’s rights in their school’s practice and ethos. Schools are required to implement four evidence-based standards that cover:

  • the leadership of the school,
  • knowledge and understanding of children’s rights,
  • ethos and relationships,
  • the empowerment of children.

RRSA consists of three awards:

  • Recognition of Commitment (Bronze award)
  • Stage 1 (Silver Award)
  • Stage 2 (Gold award)
Hit enter to search